Manage users and groups

Users and groups management functionality allows us to grant permissions to users for either using features or different artifacts. Each user can belong to a group or can be associated with a role. A Role is an attribute of the user. A Group is a set of users and is about access rights to different folders/files (e.g. as a member of the group Sales I can only access files related to the Sales Department).

Note

Only a user with administrator rights can access the “Manage users and groups” functionality

Click on the “Manage users and groups” button.

image1

Once the “User and group management” dialog opens up, we can create/remove a user, create/remove a group and assign users different roles and groups.

Create new user

To create a new user, click on the “create new user” button.

image2

Enter all the details in the “Create new user” dialog and click on “Create” button.

image3

The user will be created.

image4

Remove User

To delete a user, select the user you want to delete and click on “Remove user” button.

image5

Click on “OK” to delete the user.

image6

Create new group

To create a new group, click on “Create new group” button in the “Groups” section.

image7

Enter the name of the group and click on “Create”.

image8

The group will be created. To add users to a group, select the group. On the right-hand side, we can select the user and click on “>” button to add the users to the group.

image9

To remove a user from the group, select the user in “Assigned Users” section and click on “<” button.

image10

Remove group

To remove a group, select the group and click on the “Remove group” button.

image11

Assign roles to a user

To assign roles to a user, select the user and choose a role in “Assigned Roles” section and click on “Save”.

image12

Add a user to a group

To add a user to a group, select the user and choose a group in the “Assigned Groups” section and click on “Save”.

image13